We, The Drowned

  • Publish Date: 2011-02-09
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Author: Carsten Jensen

Sale price $16.02 Regular price $44.38

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Hailed in Europe as an instant classic, We, the Drowned is the story of the port town of Marstal, Denmark, whose inhabitants sailed the world from the mid-nineteenth century to the end of the Second World War. The novel tells of ships wrecked and blown up in wars, of places of terror and violence that continue to lure each generation; there are cannibals here, shrunken heads, prophetic dreams, forbidden passions, and miraculous survivals. The result is a brilliant seafaring novel in the vein of Conrad and Melville, a gripping saga encompassing industrial growth, the years of expansion and exploration, the crucible of the first half of the twentieth century, and most of all, the sea.

Customer Reviews