The Brave Never Write Poetry

  • Publish Date: 2007-04-14
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Daniel Jones

Sale price $26.24 Regular price $37.64

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

The brave ride streetcars to jobs
early in the morning, have traffic accidents,
rob banks. The brave have children, relationships,
mortgages. The brave never write these things
down in notebooks. The brave die and they are
dead.

First published in 1985, when Daniel Jones was just twenty-six, The Brave Never Write Poetry, the poet/critic/novelists lone collection of poems, was a cult hit, turning poetry on its head before its author (then known simply as Jones) swore off verse entirely. Written in a direct, plainspoken, autobiographical and at times confessional style in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Al Purdy, these confrontational poems about sex and boredom, drugs and suicide, document Jones depressive, alcoholic years as an enfant terrible.

This long overdue revised edition brings Jones unforgettable voice to a new generation of readers and includes the complete text of the original collection (including Jones own sardonic assessments of his own poetry) and a new postscript essay by poet/critic Kevin Connolly.

Customer Reviews