Comfort: An Atlas for the Body and Soul

  • Publish Date: 2011-11-01
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Brett C. Hoover

Sale price $13.79 Regular price $28.60

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

For readers of Kathleen Norris and Gretchen Rubin, a thought-provoking examination of the meaning of comfort.

Comfort is a universal human need. It's that craving to feel at one with the world we live in, warm (but not hot), protected (but not smothered), and secure (but not marooned) in what the future holds. Yet in our increasingly complex and overstressed world, we tend to overlook this important aspect in our lives.

In Comfort: An Atlas for the Body and Soul, Brett C. Hoover, a scholar and Catholic priest, explores what comfort means-and it means different things to different people. He delves into the psychological, emotional, and spiritual facets of comfort and offers ways to rediscover it. With insight and humor, Hoover writes about the advantages and the pitfalls of seeking-and finding-comfort as he guides us towards the goal we should strive for: to find comfort in our own lives as we offer comfort to others.

By turns lyrical and thought-provoking, funny and poignant, Comfort is full of engaging and unexpected insights in our very human search for personal fulfillment.

Customer Reviews